About Sarawak

2010-08-22 Administrator

Sarawak is the largest of Malaysia’s 13 states. It is home to Batang Rajang, the country’s longest river, and Mulu, the world’s most extensive cave system. Holding the world’s oldest and second largest tropical rainforest after the Amazon, Sarawak is a marvel of biodiversity.

Sarawak is presently divided into 11 administrative divisions; Kuching, Kota Samarahan, Sri Aman, Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Kapit, Bintulu, Mukah, Miri and Limbang. Kuching is the State capital and seat of the government.

Sarawak Maps

Sarawak has a Chief Minister, who heads a Cabinet of Ministers. The Chief Minister is appointed by the Yang di-Pertua Negeri (or Governor), from amongst members of the State's Legislative Council. State general elections are held every five years. The present Chief Minister is Pehin Sri Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri (Dr) Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud. Sarawak also has a Head of State, the Yang di-Pertua Negeri (Governor) Tun Abang Muhammad Salahuddin Abang Barieng. During Sarawak's 25th Anniversary of Independence in 1988, the State adopted a new flag, State Crest, State Motto and State Anthem.